iPad all the rage

OK, I will confess up front that I am not an Apple person. I grew up on PCs, DOS and Windows. I’m used to the snags, warts and all you encounter on a daily basis using these systems. That being said, I do see the allure of the iPad. They have made a big in-road in my company. They are light, handy, can go with you anywhere easily. Here’s an eWeek article about the adoption and impact on IT groups

For me, I had a MacBook Pro once. It was a loaner from a client and I needed it because I was putting presentations together and needed access to Keynote. I did like the interface but constantly found myself going back to my PC whenever I needed to do “real work.” My kids, however, thought it was cool. Anyway, the job ended and I returned it.

To this day, I still have issues with touch screens. I chalk it up to lack of use. But I did shy away from them with my latest phone – a Blackberry. I would be interested to hear how other 40 somethings like me who grew up with PCs are doing with the move to admittedly cooler (maybe even better?) technologies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

