Boost Email Engagement

Evidently, the September 19, 2011 issue of B2B Magazine is a lesson in re-using content! Most of the articles are recycled from earlier this year. But it works. And the content is still very relevant.

One of the articles, Using Email to Boost Customer Engagement, has some good points. I was very happy to see that I already do many of these things. But I do like the idea of segmenting by “engaged” versus “unengaged.” I do struggle with the unengaged part of my database.

And, to be truthful, that segment far outnumbers our “engaged” segment. So I’m going to try some of the ideas in this article – change up the subject and content for emails to the unengaged. And try to re-engage them. And if they don’t, cut them loose. They have no interest and I don’t want to bother them with email.

So I’m looking to use the unengaged list to see what the problem is. Is it the subject lines? Content? No match for what we offer? I’d like to know.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

