Metrics – Again

It seems to be all the rave to be talking metrics and marketing. In my opinion, if you are just starting to do this, you are 8 laps behind in a 6 lap race.

Thank God I have a really good Marketing Operations person who knows our marketing automation and CRM system inside and out. I can get my marketing BI questions answered almost all the time. The only issues I run into tend to be “not being able to generate that specific report” or not being able to automate the report. Right now, the latter is more of an issue.

I can get information in intimate detail but it takes my colleague easily a day to pull it all out and format it. But I love the info. I can look at what I call micro-metrics (not stuff I necessarily report to management but use for my benefit):

  • number of leads by account manager (our term for sales rep)
  • number of new contacts we’ve added for each persona – we’re trying to grow certain high-value targets so this is important
  • organic database growth
  • what each marketing campaign delivered – MQLs, SALs, revenue opportunities, etc.

And so much more. It’s great to see, especially since I may be getting a new boss soon! I know I’d want to see that I have a team that knows what works and what doesn’t.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

